A Person of Influence

I’ve recently discovered, to my utter shock, that I can make people do things.  I’ve only just figured this out, so I don’t know if it’s a new thing, or just something I never noticed before, but it’s like suddenly finding out you have a super power, to be honest.  Here’s the evidence I’ve built up around my theory:

  • Exhibit A: In under five minutes I convinced four other people to join me in a team where we’d ride stationary bikes to raise money for juvenile diabetes.
  • Exhibit C: After joining the gym, I convinced two other people to join the gym.
  • Exhibit D: I convinced three other people to sign up for yoga when I did.  Actually, there were five, but two weren’t organized enough and they missed the deal.

Still.  As a fairly unassuming person, I am astounded by this realization.  Don’t worry though.  I promise to use it for good and not evil.  Like getting everyone to start bringing their own cups to the coffee shop instead of getting those non-recyclable, non-compostable waxed cups.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

So, how did I become such a mistress of persuasion, you ask?  Well, you take two parts well-spoken-ness, one part timing, and three parts adorable smile and boom!  Magic!

This is what a person of influence looks like.  See? Adorable smile. You’d take a cake class with me, wouldn’t you?

Just kidding.  Actually, this is what I really think you need to do if you want to get people to do stuff:  have an idea.  That’s pretty much it.

Because here’s my theory – most people want to do stuff.  Most people are in a bit of a rut of one kind or another and would like to do something new or a bit different.  They are hampered, however by a) not having ideas about what stuff to do, and b) not having other people to do the stuff with, or at least to give them momentum to sign up for the stuff.  So suddenly you come in with an idea that sounds interesting or fun and that isn’t too expensive or hard and there you go.  People will join you.

Maybe it doesn’t quite qualify as a super power, but since I don’t have another one, I’ll take it.

8 thoughts on “A Person of Influence

  1. True story.

    Also, I’m pretty sure my sister just signed up for the same cake decorating class you took. She told me about it, and I was like, hey! I know that class! A girl whose blog I read took it. Except in Canada. So yours will probably be better because our Netflix is better, so our cake decorating classes probably are, too. But she hated the fact that she had to bake everything at home, so just… watch out.

    And she was like, What? I don’t have to bake for mine. **2 days later** Crap. I have to bake for mine. Canada sucks.

    Just kidding. (About the Canada part.) I think I’ve had too much caffeine this morning.

  2. At the risk of sounding cynical, I think you’ve just explained why marketing works so well. It tells people what they want to do.

    Great post, Stephanie. I’m impressed that with all you’re doing, you still make time to write. Keep it up!

    • Aw, you’re sweet to say it. I have been really busy lately and I’ve been neglecting my blog a lot in the process. I feel like I’ve been posting a lot of fluff just so people remember I exist.

      I agree with you on marketing though. And you don’t sound that cynical. But then, I’m pretty cynical myself, so maybe not the best judge.

Leave a Reply

