Too Happy To Be Interesting

I haven’t been writing much lately, as those of you who notice such things may have noticed.  (Although I like to think you’re all out frolicking in the sun instead of noticing.)  And here’s why: I can’t think of a single damned thing to write.

Life is good and unfortunately good is kind of boring to write about, so I can only imagine it’s that much more boring to read about.  And I don’t really want to inflict that on you, my darling readers.  Me, I’m happy as a clam.  (Who made that saying up?  It’s idiotic.  Do clams even have feelings?  Aren’t they just slime?)  It’s summer, I have a pretty new home, work is going well, I bought some new jeans that I really like, I’m enjoying the book I’m reading, and it’s almost my birthday.  No complaints from my corner.

But you know what’s actually good for people who want to write interesting things?  Angst.  Drama.  Love triangles.  Substance abuse issues.  Or at the very least a wacky roommate or a psychotic cat.  And I am 0 for 6 here folks.

So.  Um.  Here’s a picture of someone else’ psychotic cat:

I found this picture on the internet. I didn’t take it. I don’t know who did. That’s one freaky cat though.

7 thoughts on “Too Happy To Be Interesting

  1. Funny image/quote!
    I used to think angst was the only thing that would prompt my writing.
    Then I spent several years wondering why this was so, and IF it was so.
    And discovered it didn’t have to be, for me.
    And so the nature of my writing began to shift.
    I began being inspired in nature.
    Walking.
    Riding my bike.
    Getting the wheels turning, so to speak.
    Now I write about anything at all.
    Not sure who cares, but it’s fun for me.
    Takes the pressure off.
    😉

      • Well, just sharing what I’ve discovered – but that’s just me! And yeah, I don’t ‘get’ that your blog is about angst. Still, it’s been a common concept for centuries that one needs to suffer for one’s art. So it’s in the collective consciousness. No blame, just interesting to notice my own beliefs around – well – most anything! Cheers, dear!

  2. Stephanie, it isn’t hard to relate to what you’re saying. Everyone seems to be happy in the same way, but when we’re troubled, we feel unique and inspired to describe the experience. It is hard to know what to hope for, then, isn’t it?

    Have a great birthday (or did I miss it?)

    • It’s not that hard to know what to hope for. Happiness is good. 🙂 Writing this blog is just something I do for kicks. It’s never been my dream to be a writer, so if I don’t have anything to write, I don’t feel like a failure or anything. To be honest, I’m a little shocked that I’ve kept this thing going for this long. My life is littered with journals that stop six pages in.

Leave a Reply

