Paradise Found

Sorry for disappearing on you there.  I am in Hawaii for two weeks with limited access to internet.  And by limited access, what I mean is that I’m in Hawaii and have no intention of spending very much of that time in front of a screen.  It’s not that I don’t love you.  It’s just how it’s got to be.

That said, if I’m going to be on a computer, the location from which I am writing this is pretty darn idyllic.  It’s just the central courtyard of our hotel, but I’m looking at palm trees, colourful flowers, little chirpy birds and a gorgeous water fountain than runs over some kind of big porous rocks (lava?).  There is some warbly Hawaiian music in the background and I can smell the salt of the ocean and the sweet of some kind of teriyaki barbecue cooking nearby.

Hawaii is a place that I have a long-distance and sporadic, but very loving relationship with.  My mother lived here long ago and still has family here.  They are wonderful people.  Because of this, Hawaii was our primary vacation spot when I was a kid.  (Rough life, I know.  I swear, having a travel agent for a mother gave me a taste for a lifestyle to which I would love to become accustomed.)  Coming here is always a kind of homecoming.  Doing things and seeing things as an adult that I remember from childhood is a fascinating exercise in deciphering the truth of my memories.  (They are clearer than I gave them credit for, actually.)

We have been here for almost four days and already have done more than we usually do in an entire vacation.  It’s been fun.  It turns out that — in order to keep Hawaiian heritage alive, apparently — there are all these free classes here.  Lei-making and quilt-making and hula and ukulele and who knows what else. (I stumbled across and got drawn into a rumba class yesterday.  Not Hawaiian, but pretty awesome anyhow.)

I did the ukulele yesterday.  It was hard.  Not that I thought it wouldn’t be.  I haven’t studied music in fifteen years, so I’m pretty darn rusty at using that part of my brain.  You may or may not remember my beautiful pink sparkly guitar that I bought last year.  I’m sad to say that it’s been languishing in my closet.  I have no excuse.  But I figure if I take these free ukulele lessons while I’m here (Tuesdays and Thursdays for an hour) maybe I’ll be inspired to get back on that educational horse when I get home.  In aid of this, I bought a toy ukulele to practice my chords on before tomorrow’s class.  Good times.

I guess that's what I look like when I'm concentrating really hard.

Tonight we are going to a luau.  Super-touristy, which probably means I’m very uncool, but I really don’t care.  We get to do Polynesian crafts and games and watch fire-dancers.  I’m pretty excited.

Until next time, Aloha!

6 thoughts on “Paradise Found

    • Thanks! I actually have a bit of a tan for the first time in about five years. I know tans aren’t good for you, but living in Vancouver, I’m pretty sure I’ve been suffering from vitamin D deficiency, so I figure it’s ok. 🙂

  1. I clicked on you because I loved the title of your blog, oh one precious life, so I’d have no idea you “disappeared on us”. Great page – enjoy your holiday! 🙂

  2. I didn’t know you had disappeared because I too had disappeared (In fact, October 19 was exactly the day I went into hiding)… but not to a place as amazing as HAWAII! So cool! I am very jealous… but I am also very happy for you for getting to go on an exotic vacation (even if you’ve been there before). I hope it was great.

    Thank you also for posting the link on my page to that other blog. I will definitely check it out! Take care, see you around 😉

Leave a Reply

